State Support Team Region 9 Serving Schools in Holmes, Stark, and Wayne Counties
2100 38th Street NW  Canton, OH    44709   ~   330-492-8136  ~  1-800-733-7732   ~   Fax: 330-493-9135


Family Engagement Partnership

We Grow Partnerships...

Our school and community partnerships provide families with:

Contact Us

Mary Lynne Offredo Consultant/PBIS/FAP
mary.offredo@email.sparcc.org
330‐493-6082 ext. 1553

Laurie Langenfeld – Associate Director
Laurie.Langenfeld@email.sparcc.org
330‐493-6082 ext. 1432

Jennifer Griffing – Consultant
jen.griffing@email.sparcc.org
330‐493-6082 ext. 1475

Terryl Swejk – Secondary Transition
Terryl.Swejk@email.sparcc.org
330‐493-6082 ext. 1313

Debbi Bailey
Debbi.Bailey@email.sparcc.org
330‐493-6082 ext. 1448

Leeann Weigman
leeann.weigman@email.sparcc.org
330‐493-6082 ext. 1443

Deb Bates – Parent Support Coordinator
Debbie.Bates@email.sparcc.org
330‐493-6082 ext. 1552

Addy Fletcher ‐ Parent Mentor/Tri County ESC
tesc_afletcher@tccsa.net
330‐345‐6771

Please check our website for more detailed information; about:

 Family Engagement Partners
 Conference for Families and Educators of Children with Diverse Needs
 Parent Coffee Hours


Download Voices from the Field PDF


Families are a child’s first and most important teacher!  SST9 recently partnered with a local school to engage with families of preschool children.  The focus was early literacy and all of the things children know about reading and writing before they actually begin to read and write.

An invitation was extended to families to be a part of the classroom breakfast routine with their child once a month for thirty minutes. During this time, families experienced many ways they can build their child’s brains as they interact every day.  Brain research on early literacy and practical ideas centered on oral language and vocabulary were shared during this time of modeling, connection and fun!

Jen Griffing
Jen Griffing, M.Ed.

Email Address:
Jen.Griffing@email.sparcc.org

Telephone and Extension Numbers:
800-733-7732 or
330-492-8136 Ext. 1475

Jen Picture 1

Associating new words to words we already know not only builds vocabulary, but leads to more powerful brain connections.

Jen Picture 2
Rhyming is one of the many phonological awareness skills that prepares children to be proficient readers.

Jen Picture 3

We are better together! 

Community partnerships make all of us stronger.

Jen Picture 4

Talking about and giving names to what we see is an important part of reading readiness.  We must see, hear and use words to be able to read, write and spell words!

Jen Picture 5

Opportunities to engage in both listening and speaking are critical components to early literacy development.